Lars and the real girl

For the first time it actually took some persuasion for me to watch a movie.  I’m usually not apprehensive at all about watching new movies but this time I was.  Then fianlly a buddy convinced me to watch Lars and The Real Girl.  It was amazing.  I laughed, I cried, I experinced every cliche emotion that one can experience during a great movie like that.  I couldn’t believe how long I had gone without seeing that movie.  Ryan Gosling played his role in the most charming way imaginable.  The casting seemed perfect,  right down to Bianca.  It amazes me lars_and_the_real_girl_movie_image_ryan_gosling__2_that a film can be so sensitive, so genuinely caring about all its characters, and, while without question is funny at times (and sad at others), Lars And The Real Girl is never mocking, degrading or lewd – a true miracle for a film about one man’s relationship with a sex doll, especially in this era of cinema where crude gross-out has become such a predominant form.

~ by brettswanson on December 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
