kiwi

In high school one of my teachers showed me this animation short. It’s by a guy named Dony Permedi. This was his these project. The story is really sad depending on how you look at it. The idea of a kiwi with no wings, struggling to achieve his dreams and fly is a great idea. The struggles for him to set up the thing in the first place is entertianing to watch. Imagine doing things with no arms, now imagine you were a bird…with no wings, then you decide you want to fly. How do you do it? You jump off a cliff of course. Wait what?

I am not sure if this is a short talking about following your dreams full heartedly to the point where you would die to achieve them or if there is just simply no meaning to it at all. Personally I enjoy not thinking too much about it. I just enjoy this clip for what it is, searching for a symbolic message really just tears it apart and ruins the life and the simpleness of the story. Like what we have discussed in class a bunch of times, I definitely agree that some movies just should be taken for what it is, not analyze it like we tend to want to. In kiwi whether you think he dies or not I think that anyone can just simply enjoy this for what it is.

~ by krzysarah on October 31, 2008.

Leave a comment